OUR MISSIONS

Franchise &
Restoration

LE PLAY is a firm specializing in Franchise and commercial network.

 Our practice leads us to build and provide solutions to our clients in the reflection, implementation and day to day.

We have extensive experience in fast food networks.

 We easily understand the economics of these and often bring different practical solutions to optimize them turnover. For information and to allow you to think about these questions you will find below some information.

There’s no specific law regarding Franchise in France. There’s only certain formalities to be completed by the franchisor during the previous period to the conclusion of the franchise agreement (Loi Doubin).

Under a french definition franchise is a collaborative mode between two legally and financially independent companies (franchisee and the franchisor). It is a method that allows an independent undertaking faster by optimizing their chances of success and a franchisor to establish its commercial development on a network of business leaders involved in their local market.

To establish a franchise network and check that the concept works, it is recommended that the franchisor to create a commercial law company in France because it is always an issue when the franchisor abroad (limited liability company (SARL) or simplified anonymous company (SAS) and test the concept in two or three stores "pilots" for a period of two years (rule of 3/2).

The franchisor will thus ensure the enjoyment of rallying signs of customer at his disposal that is the trademark and the sign, architectural design, the visual identity system.

Following the opening of the "pilot" the future franchisor will be able to develop the rules of its franchise in particular to describe his "Know-How" (set of business methods, techniques, logistics, management, tried and tested by the franchisor).

This Know-how is secret (easily accessible by anyone outside the network), substantial (a competitive advantage for the franchisee and the consumer) and identified (documented in the operating manual or “Bible”). The franchisor must provide the franchisee who agrees to keep secret a confidentiality agreement that will be signed from the beginning of their business relations.

Franchisor ensures the franchisee technical and commercial support to mount the project, the opening of the point of sale and during the contract period. This support provides the franchisee an almost permanent transfer of know-how and its developments. It also allows the franchisor to verify the application of the concept.

Article L 330-3 of the Commercial Code (Doubin law) requires that before the conclusion of the franchise agreement, the franchisor must provide its prospective franchisees information that will help them make their decision knowingly. This step, called precontractual, is to allow each party to confirm his decision to cooperate. As the franchisor must provide honest information and complete as possible. It is embodied in a document called the pre-contractual information document (DIP). This document (DIP) shall be transmitted at least twenty days before the conclusion of the contract.

DIP usually contains :

  • The last two balance sheets of the company of the franchisor
  • The information necessary to evaluate the financial health and experience of the brand
  • The state of the national and local market
  • The full list of franchisees and contact information
  • The number of franchise agreements completed last year issuing the document and the reason
  • The duration of the proposed contract, the conditions for renewal, termination and transfer

Pursuant DIP’s signature the franchisor provides the written contract that sets out completely and specifies the rights, obligations and responsibilities of the parties. The contract must translate the strategy of the franchise network. It contains details of the resources needed to achieve the realization of the franchise concept and enables ongoing dialogue.

He recalled that the franchisor and the franchisee are two independent, who are not bound by any subordination link. Article L 441-1 of the Commercial Code provides that the franchisee inform the consumer of quality independent business, on all background papers, including of advertising, as well as inside and the outside the place of sale. Note that the drafting of these contracts and the exploitation of these require some experience to avoid an employment contract’s requalification.

The duration is set to allow the franchisee a reasonable capitalisation of its investments., inform the franchisor franchisee with sufficient notice of its intention not to renew the old contract came to an end or not to sign a new contract. The franchisor has no obligation to renew a franchise agreement. However, if the franchisor suddenly breaks the contract so that the franchisee thought he would continue, he may be guilty of abuse of rights. As part of the termination provisions, the contract gives the franchisee the opportunity to come into compliance within a reasonable time and list clearly the serious circumstances that can lead to termination without notice. In the event of termination or cancellation the franchisee must return all franchise elements such as teaches otherwise he may be guilty of copyright infringement or breach of trust. He must also pay the balance of the remaining charges due.

The conditions under which will be able to effect the assignment or transfer of rights under the contract are clearly specified, including the conditions for approval of a successor. The network interest can justify the existence of a right of first refusal in favor of the franchisor. The non-competition clause during the contract is justified by the protection of knowledge and, if applicable, by the franchisor's concern that the franchisee concentrate mainly in the joint project success. The financial obligations of franchisees are clearly specified and are established to support the achievement of common goals typically found payment of an entrance fee, an initial and ongoing formation, royalties rate and a contribution to national network of advertising (NAF) .Moreover the contract generally provides for the exclusive purchase of products manufactured by the franchisor or by a supplier but approved by the franchisor.

First of all the franchise

The contract generally provides for the settlement of disputes and the applicable law, it is often the Commercial Court of the franchisor headquarter and French law.

 

Our other areas of intervention

18 Rue de Tilsitt, 75017 Paris
Tel : +33(0)1 47 05 10 20
Fax : +33(0)1 47 05 10 21

© Le play Law 2019

NOS MISSIONS

Franchise et
Restauration

Le PLAY est un cabinet spécialisé en Franchise et en droit des reseaux commerciaux. Notre pratique nous porte à construire et apporter des solutions à nos clients dans la reflection, la mise en place et la vie d’un reseau.

Nous avons une experience importante dans les reseaux de restauration rapide. Nous comprenons aisement l’économie de ceux-ci et apportons souvent des solutions pratiques différentes permettant d’optimiser les exploitations. À titre information et vous permettre de réflechir sur ces questions vous trouverez ci après une base d’information.

La France ne connait pas de loi concernant la Franchise excepté la loi Doubin qui prévoit certaines formalités à remplir par le Franchiseur durant la période antérieure à la conclusion du contrat de franchise.

Il faur rappeler que la franchise est un mode de collaboration entre deux entreprises indépendantes juridiquement et financièrement (le franchisé et le franchiseur). C’est une méthode qui permet à un indépendant d’entreprendre plus rapidement en optimisant ses chances de succès et à un franchiseur d’asseoir son développement commercial sur un réseau de chefs d’entreprise impliqués sur leur marché local.

Pour implanter un réseau de franchise et vérifier que le concept marche, il est recommandé au franchiseur de tester le concept dans deux ou trois magasins « pilotes » pendant une période de deux ans ( règle des 3/2).

Le franchiseur va ainsi garantir au franchisé la jouissance de signes de ralliement de la clientèle mis à sa disposition c’est à dire la marque et l’enseigne, le concept architectural, le système d’identité visuelle.  Le franchiseur entretient et développe l’image de marque.

A la suite de l’ouverture de ces « pilotes » le futur Franchiseur sera à meme d’élaborer les régles de sa franchise et notamment pouvoir décrire son « savoir faire » (ensemble de méthodes commerciales, techniques, logistiques, informatiques, de gestion, ….. testées et expérimentées par le franchiseur).

Ce savoir faire est secret (difficilement accessible par une personne  extérieure au réseau), substantiel (procure un avantage concurrentiel pour le franchisé et le consommateur) et identifié (consigné par écrit dans le manuel opératoire ou Bible de la franchise).

De plus le fanchiseur assure au franchisé un accompagnement technique et commercial au montage du projet, à l’ouverture du point de vente et durant la durée du contrat. Cet accompagnement assure au franchisé un transfert quasi permanent du savoir faire et de ses évolutions.  Il permet également au franchiseur de vérifier l’application du concept.

L’article L330-3 du code de commerce dit loi Doubin impose qu’avant la conclusion du contrat de franchise, le franchiseur doit fournir à ses futurs franchisés les informations qui leur permettront de prendre leur décision en connaissance de cause. Cette étape, dite précontractuelle, a pour objet de permettre à chaque partie de se confirmer dans sa décision de collaborer. À ce titre le franchiseur doit fournir une information sincère et la plus complète possible. En apportant toute information utile pour garantir ou assurer un consentement libre et éclairé du franchisé.  Elle se matérialise dans un document appelé, le Document d’Information Précontractuelle (DIP). Ce document (DIP) doit être transmis sous vingt jours au minimum avant la conclusion du contrat.

Le DIP contiendra :

  • Les deux derniers bilans de l’entreprise du franchiseur
  • Des informations permettant de juger de la santé financière et de l’expérience de l’enseigne
  • L’état du marché national et local
  • La liste complète des franchisés et leurs coordonnées
  • Le nombre de contrats de franchise terminés l’année précédente la délivrance du document et la raison
  • La durée du contrat proposé, les conditions de renouvellement, de résiliation et de cession

Le DIP permet au candidat à la franchise de faire sa propre analyse et de comparer les enseignes qui l’intéressent, une étape indispensable avant de se lancer et choisir un réseau qu’il va rejoindre.

A la suite de ce DIP le franchiseur établit le contrat écrit qui énonce de façon complète et précise les droits, obligations et responsabilités des parties.  Le contrat doit traduire la stratégie du réseau de franchise.  Il comporte l’indication des moyens nécessaires pour atteindre la réalisation du concept de franchise et permet il doit établir un dialogue permanent.

La durée est fixée de façon à permettre au franchisé un amortissement raisonnable des investissements spécifiques  à la franchise.  Le cas échéant, le franchiseur informe le franchisé avec un préavis suffisant de son intention de ne pas renouveler l’ancien contrat arrivé à son terme ou de ne pas signer un nouveau contrat.  Dans le cadre des clauses de résiliation, le contrat donne au franchisé la possibilité de se mettre en conformité dans un délai raisonnable et liste de façon claire les circonstances graves pouvant entraîner une résiliation sans préavis. En cas de rupture ou résiliation le franchisé doit restituer tous les éléments de la franchise tels que l’enseigne faute de quoi il pourra être coupable d’un délit de contrefaçon ou d’abus de confiance. Il doit aussi payer le solde des redevances  restant dues.

Les conditions dans lesquelles pourront s’opérer la cession ou le transfert des droits découlant du contrat sont clairement précisées, notamment les conditions d’agrément d’un successeur.  L’intérêt du réseau peut légitimer l’existence d’un droit de préemption au profit du franchiseur. Les clauses de non-concurrence en cours de contrat se justifient par la protection du savoir faire et, s’il y a lieu, par le souci du franchiseur de voir le franchisé se consacrer essentiellement au succès du projet commun. Les obligations financières des franchisés sont clairement précisées et sont déterminées de façon à favoriser l’atteinte des objectifs communs on rettrouve généralement le paiement d’un droit d’entrée, d’une formation initiale et permanente, un taux de royalties et une contribution à la publicité nationale du reseau (NAF) .De plus le contrat prevoit généralement l’achat exclusif des produits fabriqués par le franchiseur ou par un fournisseur mais agrée par le franchiseur.

Tout d’abord le franchisé

Si le contrat n’a pas été rompu il expire à la date fixée par les parties s’il s’agit d’un contrat à durée déterminé  Dans ce cas là le franchiseur, uniquement, peut renouveler le contrat. Lorsque le contrat est à durée indéterminée les parties peuvent y mettre fin à tout moment. Toutefois si le franchiseur rompt brutalement le contrat alors que le franchisé pensait qu’il allait le poursuivre, il peut être coupable d’abus de droit.

 

Nos autres domaines d'intervention

18 Rue de Tilsitt, 75017 Paris
Tel : +33(0)1 47 05 10 20
Fax : +33(0)1 47 05 10 21

© Le play Law 2019